The Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani, LLC - Denver
Steven J. Pisani is a prominent Criminal Defense Lawyer in Denver offering complete legal assistance to his clients. His firm specializes in DUI defense (drunk driving), Domestic Violence defense and Colorado traffic ticket defense. The firm’s only areas of focus are criminal defense, juvenile criminal defense, traffic ticket defense and the sealing of criminal records.
At Pisani Law, we understand that most people find it difficult to navigate the complex legal system. Our procedure is simple but effective. We always start with a thorough assessment of our client’s case and keep the client updated on any developments. We explain the weaknesses and strengths within the framework of the law and how to best handle each individual situation. We can never guarantee the outcome of a case; but our strong trial record all across Colorado and our high rate of client satisfaction should assure you that we have your best interests in mind.
Most cases are different from one another; sometimes people are falsely accused or they simply made a bad decision. Even in cases that seem identical, nuances can dramatically change the outcome. Our top priority is always to protect our client’s interests and use our expertise to get them free from the charges in the court. We make all lawfully possible efforts to save our clients from harsh punishment. Even if a punishment is compulsory, we make efforts to reduce the penalty or detention.Criminal charges can result in very harsh sentences, which could include anything from imprisonment to expensive fines and treatment classes. Additionally, there may be collateral consequences for having a misdemeanor or felony charge on your criminal record. For instance:
A guilty plea to a misdemeanor domestic violence charge may prevent the person from ever owning or keeping a firearm legally.
A drug conviction could lead to a denial or suspension of student loan aid.
Too many points on a driver’s record could lead to a suspension of your driving privilege and increased insurance premiums.We get to know our clients personally and always inform them about the possible consequences they face in their case.Don’t be confused if you need a Denver Criminal Defense Attorney, Denver DUI lawyer, Drunk Driving Lawyer Colorado, DWAI Attorney, as we at Pisani Law Firm are here to help you with our years of experience in handling criminal cases successfully. You just need to contact us to set up a free no obligation consultation to let us explain that how can we assist you.
Business Operation Hours
8:00 AM to 6:30 PM
8:00 AM to
8:00 AM to 6:30 PM
8:00 AM to 6:30 PM
8:00 AM to 6:30 PM
As per Colorado habitual offender law, there are some severe punishments in the state for driving as a habitual offender. The sentence for a conviction comprises compulsory prison time, heavy fines, and the automatic year extension of your driver’s license cancellation. Apart from them, you are not allowed to drive until your license is reinstated.
Colorado’s HTO law was reformed in 2010 to embrace a compulsory minimum jail sentence of 30 days and the obligatory minimum penalty of $3,000, any of which can be deferred upon completion of up to 300 hours of useful public service. In such case, probation is precisely not authorized.Steven J. Pisani is a Colorado habitual traffic offender lawyer who will represent you at court and at the DMV, working to save your driving privileges and reduce your punishments and fines.
There are many reasons a person may have their license restrained or suspended. A license can be restrained because of excessive points from moving violations, such as speeding tickets or something more serious like a DUI. Sometimes a license may be suspended for non-driving related reasons, such as failure pay traffic tickets, failure to appear in court or not paying court ordered child support.
If you are caught driving with a restrained, suspended or revoked license you will be charged with Driving Under Restraint (DUR). Unfortunately, a DUR charge can be much more serious than something like a normal speeding ticket, and carries the possibility of jail time.What does driving under restraint mean,Driving Under Restraint is legally defined as “[a]ny person who drives a motor vehicle or off-highway vehicle upon any highway of this state with knowledge that the person’s license or privilege to drive, either as a resident or a nonresident, is under restraint….” C.R.S. §42-2-138(1)(a) (2013).
The “knowledge” referred to in the statute does not necessarily mean you ‘knew” your license was revoked. All that is necessary is “constructive knowledge” which means essentially that a reasonable person should have known that their license was under restraint. Even a record that a notice of revocation was sent to a last known address can be sufficient to establish knowledge, regardless of if you actually received and/or read the notice. Such legal nuances make it essential that you hire an attorney with experience in defending DUR charges.
Attorney Steven J. Pisani assists clients charged with driving under revocation (DUR) and driving under suspension (DUS). The Division of Motor Vehicles has complicated rules and regulations. If you have had your license suspended or revoked, and get caught while driving without a valid license, driving defense lawyer Steven J. Pisani can help.Steven J. Pisani is a renowned Denver Traffic Attorney who represents clients facing traffic offense charges. Traffic laws are classically separated into two categories – traffic infractions and traffic offenses. An infraction is not a criminal offense and the penalty is usually a fine. Many traffic tickets, like non-moving violations and non-dangerous moving violations are classified as infractions. Driving over the speed limit for up to 19 miles or failing to stop at a red light, are examples of traffic infractions.
Traffic offenses are more serious than infractions and may be criminal in nature, resulting in the possibility of jail time. Traffic offenses include: driving without proof of auto insurance, reckless or dangerous driving, careless driving, and failure to stop at the scene of an accident (hit & run). In the state of Colorado, DUI (driving under the influence) is an unclassified traffic misdemeanor.
If you have been cited for speeding in the Denver Metro Area, including Arvada, Brighton, Aurora, Broomfield, Commerce City, Centennial, Denver, Greenwood Village, Englewood, Golden, Lakewood, Littleton, Northglenn, Wheat Ridge, Thornton, Westminster, Adams County, Arapahoe County or Jefferson County, always remember a speeding ticket will add points to your driver’s license.
If you received an unfair ticket, if there were qualifying circumstances, or if you were stopped for reasons other than a moving violation, don’t settle. Fight back with an experienced traffic attorney. A conviction may lead to high fines, traffic classes or jail. Moreover, if you accumulate too many points your license can be suspended. If you are then caught driving while under a suspension, the consequences could be really severe.
Out of State Traffic Defendants,Usually, traffic crimes require the defendant to appear in court. If you were just moving through the Denver Metro Area, or no longer live in the state, Colorado Traffic Ticket Lawyer, Steven J. Pisani can represent you and deal with your case. Moreover, in most cases you don’t even have to appear, we act as your agent. We can normally diminish the charge, fines and points associated with your ticket.
Contact Denver traffic lawyer and Denver speeding ticket Attorney Steven J. Pisani today for the best advice in your case and a free consultation. We use official Colorado Bureau of Investigation criminal background checks to get the necessary information regarding our client’s prior cases. This information is essential for the right application; if a crucial piece is missing, this can create future issues.
Once we get all of the required information, we start drafting a petition to the court requesting the sealing of your record. A petition is the formal request for erasing records and gets submitted, along with a fee, at the Colorado District Court. The fees range between approximately $250 and $500; once paid, the court will then provide a date for hearing on your case. The hearing will provide us an opportunity to convince the court that sealing the records can benefit you more in comparison to the loss to the public for not getting access to your record.
There is no guarantee that you will get your records sealed, but Denver attorney Steven J. Pisani has a great record of success. Sealing of records can take months to prepare, so always be patient and let your lawyer do the right thing for you.In the state of Colorado Assault charges can be higher with a domestic violence title when both parties are or have been in a close relationship. The attachment of domestic violence charge with assault straightly demands an arrest. In such circumstance you can get arrested without bail until present in front of a judge.
Apart from this, protection orders may prevent you from contacting the other party. The domestic violence title also boosts the likely penalties of the assault conviction, demanding several months of treatment and therapy classes. In such a circumstance, it is advised to consult your case with a knowledgeable Denver assault defense attorney.Self Defense may be claimed when acting on an honest belief of a threat. Self defense can be difficult to establish, particularly in cases where there is no third party witness involvement.
It is quite important for the person facing the charges of assault to contact a competent Denver based assault and battery lawyer as soon as possible. Sometimes, officers do not take proper images of your injuries if there are any, if they get influenced with the other party and make a mindset that you are the culprit.So hiring an assault attorney in Denver when the case is fresh is always best and may preserve a lot of evidence in your favor.
Product and Services
Domestic Violence is a designation in criminal law given to certain crimes when there has been an intimate relationship between the parties involved. Typically individuals are charged with domestic violence when their partner claims there was physical violence, or when any other action is used by one person to control, punish, bully, threaten or seek revenge on the other.Effects of a Domestic Violence Conviction
The sentences in DV cases are generally harsher than in non-DV cases for the same crime. A DV conviction can result in sentences of jail time, probation, DV treatment classes, mandatory protection orders keeping you away from your family, and expensive fines. The treatment program generally requires weekly classes and therapy sessions over the course of several months. Additionally, DV convictions may be used against you in other court proceedings such as future criminal and family law cases.
The consequences for a domestic violence are very severe, not only in the criminal court but beyond. Such convictions can also become threats of deportation of non-residents, and may create a hindrance in their present as well as future employment prospects. Also, a DV conviction can make it difficult to rent a living space or qualify for governmental assistance. Furthermore, a Colorado DV conviction can deny the defendant’s right to own or keep a firearm forever.
Steven J. Pisani is an expert Denver Domestic Violence Attorney, who has solved many intricate cases. It is better to take expert advice rather than fighting alone.Steven J. Pisani is a reputed Denver Assault Defense lawyer that provides complete legal support to his clients charged with assault offenses. We protect our clients by taking benefit of every probable defense against the charges of assault and/or battery. Assault charges can stem from actions in which a client’s emotions got the best of them; due to provocation; accidental or unintended injury; or a defense against an honest perceived threat.
We always probe the case in 360 degrees to know the case better than the prosecution. We as a law firm have a deep understanding of all the possible consequences of an assault conviction and we discuss them with the client. Our motto is to protect the client’s rights and accomplish the best likely verdict against the charges.Since the enactment of Colorado Amendment 64, adults aged 21 or older can grow up to six cannabis plants (with no more than half being mature flowering plants), privately in a locked space, legally possess all cannabis from the plants they grow (as long as it stays where it was grown), legally possess up to one ounce of cannabis while traveling, and give as a gift up to one ounce to other citizens 21 years of age or older.
Consumption is permitted in a manner similar to alcohol, with equivalent offenses proscribed for driving such as DUID. Consumption in public remains illegal as with alcohol. Visitors and tourists in Colorado can use and purchase marijuana, but can not take it out of the state, and it is prohibited at Denver International Airport.Below are some frequently asked questions and answers to the current marijuana law. Please note that this area of law is very new and changes happen frequently. Please contact a marijuana lawyer to find out the latest in the law.
Sealing of Records,Having a criminal record can create many problems in your life. You will more than likely be judged on the basis of your past records rather than your current situation. Steven J. Pisani is a prominent Colorado Sealing of Records lawyer who represents people want to appeal to the Colorado Courts to seal their criminal history.
If you have ever been arrested or cited for any illegal activity, or if you were unfairly suspected of any crime, a criminal record has been created for you. If the criminal case led to a municipal offense conviction or a dismissal, there is a provision in the state’s law to petition to erase or seal your records. However, this process can be difficult and requires careful attention to detail or your petition may be rejected by the court. It is always best to seek the help of the best lawyers in Denver to file your petition and represent you in the court.
Typically we request to seal any document or record relating to the criminal case. This usually comprises the complaint(s) filed against you; photographs; fingerprints; rap sheets; records of arrests; warrants and court procedural records. It is essential to understand that a sealed record is different than one that has been completely destroyed. Government bodies like the FBI, police, and immigration officers may still have access to the sealed records for certain purposes, but they are not available to the general public.
Colorado’s “express consent” law is set out in C.R.S. § 42-4-1301.1 and states that anyone who drives a motor vehicle anywhere in Colorado “consents” to various provisions in the statute. The most basic provision is that a driver “shall be required to take and complete… tests of the person’s breath or blood for the purposes of determining the alcoholic content…” when requested by an officer who has probable cause to believe a driver was operating a motor vehicle impaired by alcohol or drugs.
Refusal to cooperate with a legal request for a chemical test can be used against that person for any purpose, including at a trial to show “guilty knowledge”. Additionally, district attorneys typically offer harsher plea deals in refusal cases because of the defendant’s lack of cooperation and the unknown nature of the level of intoxication at the time of driving.
If a person has been arrested for a drunk driving or drugged driving, a driver’s license review is commenced. Typically, drivers have 7 days from the time of arrest to request a hearing at the DMV on their driving privileges. After a hearing is requested, police reports and a hearing date will be mailed to you. If you fail to request a hearing in a timely fashion, the DMV will automatically review and take action against your license without you or your attorney’s participation.
Hiring an experienced Colorado DUI Defense attorney is critical at the early stages of your case. Time limits are strict and pass very quickly. If you have been cited with an impaired driving case, contact defense attorney Steven J. Pisani and his firm for a free no obligation consultation to discuss your case and your rights.
Colorado has created a special category of DUI offender, classified as a “persistent drunk driver” (PDD). In 1998, Colorado lawmakers passed the Persistent Drunk Driver Act, which increased DUI penalties for those with repeat DUI convictions or extremely high blood alcohol concentrations at the time of an offense. In 2014, Colorado’s DUI laws changed and lowered the BAC at which a driver is classified as a persistent drunk driver from 0.17 to 0.15. The new 2014 laws also mandates that anyone who refuses to take a breath, blood, or urine test when arrested for suspicion of driving under the influence will now also be classified as a persistent drunk driver.
Penalties under the Persistent Drunk Driving StatuteThe penalties for a conviction of driving under the influence with the persistent drunk driver designation can be severe, even if it is a driver’s first alcohol related driving offense. Those classified as persistent drunk drivers have to undergo drug and alcohol rehabilitation. They also need to agree to install ignition interlock devices on their vehicles for two years in order to regain their full, unimpeded driving privileges. Persistent drunk drivers must wait at least 30 days under the new law before applying for a probationary driver’s license with ignition interlock use.
Prior to January 1, 2014, Colorado law did not allow for those who refused BAC tests to apply for early license reinstatement; they had to go for one year without driving privileges. The new law allows drivers classified as persistent drunk drivers due to test refusal to apply for a probationary license after a 60-day suspension, as long as they agree to install ignition interlock devices in their vehicles for two years.
These administrative penalties are in addition to the criminal penalties that drivers face for DUI convictions, including fines, jail time, public service, court costs, and penalty surcharges. Persistent drunk driving defense lawyer Steven J. Pisani can assist you in understanding these new laws and how they will affect your life if you are charged as a PDD. Contact us now for a free consultation.